UPDATE: Maddon/Piniella win Manager of the Year

Wednesday, November 12, 2008 ·

Oh well Uncle Chuck. I guess you won't have a pretty Manager of the Year trophy to go next to that shiny World Series ring you have. As the trend continues, Manuel became the 6th championship manager since 2000 to not win the top skipper award.

Anyway, Rays skipper Joe Maddon ran away with the AL award and Piniella won his third title (first in the NL) in a tight race in his respective league. Maddon got the Rays their first playoff berth and pennant while Piniella coached the Cubs to their 2nd straight playoff berth since 1908.

Lou Piniella, Joe Maddon win manager of year awards [ESPN]

The next big race for Philadelphia is the NL MVP award where Ryan Howard is among a number of considerations that include Carlos Delgado, Albert Pujols, Adam Dunn, David Wright, and Lance Berkman.

In other news. Tim Lincecum of the Giants won the NL Cy Young award.


A small introduction...

We Hate to Lose began in October 2007. The initial purpose of the website was to provide news updates and commentary on all four major sports teams in Philadelphia. Because of time-constraints, in April of 2009, I decided to post only on my first-love, the Philadelphia Phillies.

My name is Justin Evans and I hope you enjoy the site.

2008 Phillies - World Fucking Champions

Philadelphia Phillies News

Philadelphia Phillies

Phillies YouTube Videos