Manuel, Gillick Honored by

Wednesday, December 17, 2008 · each year has the fans vote to honor players, coaches, executives, and even plays and moments each year. This year, 2 Phillies were recognized by the fans and there are still a few more awards to be handed out. Charlie Manuel was voted best manager of the year and Pat Gillick was voted best executive.

We all know what both men did for the Phillies organization. Manuel led the Phillies to their first championship in 28 years and first in the city in 25 years and Gillick assembled that team. Gillicks most notable moves were trading Michael Bourn in the off season for perfect closer Brad Lidge, who is up for best closer and his final out is up for best moment in the playoffs. His other notable moves include the signing of Matt Stairs, whose home run in the WS is up for best moment in playoffs and Scott Eyre and resigning JC Romero.

Other Phillies up for awards:
-Ryan Howard lost to Albert Pujols for best hitter
-Lidge is up for best closer
-Lidge's final out in Game 5, Carlos Ruiz's walk-off dribbler in Game 3, Matt Stairs' go-ahead homer in Game 4, and Chase Utley's throw home in Game 5 are all up for post season moment of the year.

Get out and vote!


A small introduction...

We Hate to Lose began in October 2007. The initial purpose of the website was to provide news updates and commentary on all four major sports teams in Philadelphia. Because of time-constraints, in April of 2009, I decided to post only on my first-love, the Philadelphia Phillies.

My name is Justin Evans and I hope you enjoy the site.

2008 Phillies - World Fucking Champions

Philadelphia Phillies News

Philadelphia Phillies

Phillies YouTube Videos